Each year, the William Nelson Cromwell Foundation makes available a number of early career scholar fellowships intended to support research and writing in American legal history. The number of fellowships to be awarded, and their amounts, are at the discretion of the Foundation. In the past several years, the trustees of the Foundation have awarded from three to eight fellowships, in amounts of $5,000. The Committee for Research Fellowships and Awards of the American Society for Legal History (the “ASLH”) reviews the applications and makes recommendations to the Foundation.

The Foundation seeks an accounting of the expenditure of its funds, and requires the return of any unused funds.

Scholars who are not at the early stages of their careers may seek research grants directly from the Foundation.  For more information, see the Grants page.

Application Procedure:

The application procedure is described on the ASLH website, which may be accessed by clicking the following link: https://aslh.net/award/cromwell-fellowships/.

Past Recipients:

Year Winner
2023 Siobhan M. M. Barco, Haris A. Durrani, Brianne Felsher, M. Henry Ishitani, Gabriel L. Levine, Sarah R. Meiners, Caleb A. Pennington, Robin Miller Radner and Kimberly G. White.
2022 Jonah Estess, Kimberly Phương Beaudreau, Jared S. Berkowitz, Bobby Cervantes and Donna Rae Devlin.
2021 Myisha S. Eatmon, Jessica S. Fletcher, Aden Knaap, and Benjamin C. Lyons.
2020 Jilene Chua, Marie-Amelie George, Paul M. B. Gutierrez, Michael McGovern, and Giuliana Perrone.
2019 Michelle Bezark, Hardeep Dhillon, Signe Fourmy, Jose Argueta Funes, Jamie Grischkan, Lauren van Haaften-Schick, Amanda Kleintop, David Korostyshevsky, Naama Maor, Bharath Palle, Natalie Shibley, Lila Teeters, and Lael Weinberger.
2018 Katherine Carper, Meggan Farish Cashwell, Anne Gray Fischer, Ashton Merck, Shaun Ossei-Owusu, Ivón Padilla-Rodríguez, Brendan Shanahan, Kent Weber, and Geneva Smith
2017 Emily Prifogle, Scott McDowell, Julia Lewandoski, Daniel Platt, Brandon Jett, Evelyn Atkinson, Joshua Mound, Hunter Harris, Jennifer E. Morgan, Faith Barter, and Allison Madar
2016 Marie-Amélie George, Adam Wolkoff, Jonathan Lande, Yael Schacher, Elizabeth Katz, and Maria R. Montalvo
2015 Brooke Depenbusch, Smita Ghosh, Alexandra Havrylyshyn, Amanda Hughett, Mary Mitchell, Jeffrey Thomas Perry, Kathryn Schumaker, Evan Taparata, and Lee B. Wilson
2014 John M. Collins, Scott De Orio, Helen Dewar, Nancy O. Gallman, Jane C. Manners, Emily Margolis, and Samanthis Q. Smalls
2013 Matthew Axtell, Michael Caires, Sara Damiano, Kellen Funk, Jeremy Kessler, Michael Schoeppner, Sara Seo, and Jameson R. Sweet
2012 James Allison, Anne Fleming, Hidetaka Hirota, Ryan Johnson, and Suzanne Kahn
2011 Cynthia Greenlee-Donnell, Melissa Hayes, Jeffrey Kahn, and Kimberley Reilly
2010 Nathaniel Holdren, Howard Pashman, Gautham Rao, and Karen M. Tani
2009 Kevin Arlyck, Mark Hanna, Kelly Kennington, Felicity Turner, and Kyle Volk
2008 Leah Weinryb Grosghal, Sophia Lee, and Laura Weinrib
2007 Lyndsay Campbell, Christopher Schmidt, Hilary Soderland, and Joshua Stein
2006 Christopher Beauchamp, Kenneth W. Mack, Kunal Parker, Nicholas Parrillo, and Daniel J. Sharfstein
2005 Robert Castro, Bernie D. Jones, and Ajay K. Mehrotra